Where To Buy

Idemitsu FAQs

Do you have Shopee?

Check out this link: https://shopee.ph/idemitsulubricantsphinc to visit our official Shopee store.

What is IFG Series?

IFG Series is our newest line up of engine oils for cars. IDEMITSU IFG lets you enjoy peakengine performance and driving pleasure beyond expectation thanks to precision tailored technology.

What is IFD Series?

IFD Series is our newest line up of engine oils for cars. IDEMITSU IFD is our engine oil that is applicable for both Diesel and Gasoline.

What is IRG Series?

IRG Series is our newest line up of engine oils for motorcycles. IDEMITSU IRG series engine oil was created by combining the accumulated know-how of IDEMITSU engineers in superbike racing and MotoGP. Our nano-tailored formulations enable acceleration and horsepower at the superbike racing level, as well as stress-free shifting that lets you concentrate on riding.

What's the difference between IFG 7,5,3?

IFG7 is our flagship product that has the Septet Guard Technology. It has 7 ultra-protective advantages. IFG5 is our High Premium product that has the Quintet Guard Technology. It has 5 ultra-protective advantages. Lastly, the IFG3 is our Premium product that has a performance above international standards.

What is Viscosity?

Viscosity of any fluid can be described as its resistance to flow. Informally, viscosity correlates with the thickness of a liquid substance. For example: Thickness and resistance to follow of honey is relatively higher than water, which denotes that the viscosity of honey is greater than water. Fluidity is inversely related with viscosity that means if the viscosity of a fluid is higher than its fluidity will be lower.

What is a Lubricant?

Lubricant generally is a liquid substance, which is used to reduce friction between surfaces. Based on the applications and the expected outcomes lubricant can be of different types like engine oil, transmission oil etc. A lubricant is made of two basic components: a. Base Oil b. Performance Additives Based on the advancement in technologies, high performance lubricant demands are increasing.

What is a Multi-grade Lubricant?

An oil's viscosity is defined by a numerical number, as decided by SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) for motor oils. This numerical code system defines grade of a motor oil based on its viscosity characteristics. For example: 30 or 40.

In general, there are two types of motor oils or lubricants available.

Mono-Grade Lubricants: Viscosity grade consist of only 1 number like 30 or 40 or 15W.

Multi-Grade Lubricants: Viscosity grade consists of two numbers 10W-30. 10W refers to the low-temperature viscosity ("Winter" in short "W"), 40 refers to the high-temperature viscosity.

Currently most of the automotive lubricants are multi-grade oils, capable to operate in wide temperate ranges.

What are the functions of Engine Oil?

Engine oil's primary job is to provide lubricity to reduce friction between metal parts. However, this is not all, it also needs to do many other important jobs also like cleaning of engine parts, cooling, reduce oxidation and foaming, protection from mechanical wear and many more.

Why Engine Oil turns black?

One of the important functions of engine oil is "Cleaning". During operation, a lot of by-products and impurities are generated inside the engine like soot, dirt and other combustion contaminants. Engine oil's continuous & repeated exposure to heat cycles and oxidation also result into darkening of engine oil over a period of time. To keep engine protected, engine oils are developed with detergent additives, which continuously keeps these impurities in dispersed & suspended conditions so that during oil change all these dirt particles come out easily.